33% an Engineer

33% an Engineer

A semester in the life of student in a 3rd tier engineering college

This April, I completed my 3rd semester of Engineering at Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology (Sir MVIT),Bangalore and it has been a significant milestone in my journey. The connections I’ve made, the workshops I conducted, and the learnings I’ve had the privilege of having have made my semester all the more special. Here is a recap of my semester.

The semester I had the honor of hosting an augmented reality workshop in B. M. S. College of Engineering called "Snapify". It was an incredible experience connecting with eager minds and sharing my passion for technology and innovation.

I also hosted a LinkedIn workshop for the first year students representing the Ecell of my own college illustrating the uses and methods of using this platform.

I was a part of the core team in the design department for the annual intercollegiate college fest "Kalanjali 2023" and it was a highlight of this semester. Collaborating with talented individuals to bring creative visions to life was truly inspiring.

With a keen interest in UI-UX, I undertook a UIUX course by Google and successfully obtained the certification. This course has further fuelled my passion for creating seamless and user-friendly designs.

I was also selected to represent E-CELL SMVIT at Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay for the Esummit as one of the top 20 colleges. The
experience was enlightening and opened up new horizons of learning and
networking.

I wrapped up my first internship with Under 25 Universe as a Student Operations Manager for the Snapchat Opinion Leader program after 9 months and it was an incredible journey. The program achieved over 40 billion impressions, and being the head of AR, I oversaw the creation of over 20,000 AR lenses. I worked across the board, working with data and automating was definitely a core skill I learnt.

Attending technical events in this semester, the highlight being the Google Build with AI event by GDG Bangalore, was extremely insightful. I learned a lot about Gemini, Gemma, and neo4j, which I'm eager to incorporate into my future projects.

Getting my own laptop on my own was a significant step for me, and I'm thrilled about the opportunities it holds for me.

As a young individual, I’ve had the opportunity to be in rooms with some of the smartest and most powerful people in their respective industries and it’s been an honor for me. From hosting calls, attending workshops and conferences, and building my skillset I’ve done my best at doing them all.

This semester has been transformational and I’m looking forward to doing bigger and better things in my upcoming semesters.